January 8, 2010

Neti Worth: Stock in the value of nasal irrigation is up

Posted in Ayurveda, Colds & Flus, Essential Oils, Respiratory Conditions, Uncategorized, Yoga tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , at 9:37 pm by moondeva

 Just found this great article at Well & Good  on using the Neti Pot. Neti Worth: Stock in the value of nasal irrigation is up «

If you’ve never tried, it really is a fantastic help for sinus-related problems, and for fending off colds. I’ve never managed to do it daily, which I’d like to work up to. But, I do use it when I have hay-fever, respiratory cold, or sinus infection to enormous benefit. If only I could convince my 9-year old to try!

I have a couple items to add to the conversation. Firstly, it is very beneficial to follow your neti by lubricating the nasal passages with Sesame Oil (raw, organic, cold-pressed). After completing the neti, apply a small amount of sesame oil with your finger or cotton swab inside the nostrils. This will help keep them lubricated and enhance their filtering power. Think of it like this: you always moisturize your face after washing, right? Same here.

The article mentions doing a steam with Eucalyptus which is also a great way to clear sinuses. If you do both neti and steam, do neti first.  Eucalyptus essential oil is extremely antibacterial and it’s pungent vapors are also anti-inflammatory so it will clear your sinuses and fight infection at the same time.

There are many varieties of Eucalyptus – Eucalyptus globulus is the most common, but the Eucalyptus Radiata is my favorite since it has a great lemony sweet aspect (not as harsh as globulus) and is very safe for children. I get mine through YoungLiving Essential Oils. Other excellent essential oils to combat sinus infections are Sweet Marjoram (Origanum marjorana), Ravensara (Ravensara aromatica), and Bay (Lauris nobilis). Inhale straight from the bottle, add them to your steam, add a couple drops to your diffuser, or add to massage oil and rub into feet, chest and throat.

Here’s to breathing free!

 (full disclosure: I am a distributor of YoungLiving Essential Oils and the link is to my affiliated site – they are the  only source I have found for that particular variety of Eucalyptus)

2 Comments »

  1. EcoYogini said,

    my parents just recently started using a Neti Pot and LOVE IT. i would have NEVER guessed that my uber traditional parents would ever use one, but there you go! i’ll suggest the sesame oil too 🙂

    thank you for visiting my space and i’m glad you were thinking about paper towel- maybe someday a rag will be used ?

    Fun space! I need to come back here tonight after work when i have more time to explore!

    Blessings~

  2. Alex Nixon said,

    I know people love the neti pot. I unfortunately have not had a good experience with one. I found what could be considered a modern day neti pot called Naväge. This thing is so cool. It’s a hand held device that takes about 15 seconds from start to finish. I know it has helped me ward off my annual fall sinus infection but I have also been sleeping better. I am sleeping and breathing better than ever.


Leave a comment