December 12, 2009

Best of 09 cont….Dec. 7 through 11

Posted in Uncategorized tagged , , , , , , at 4:29 am by moondeva

 

December 7  Best blog find of the Year: Have to say this is super tough since I only just starting reading blogs a few months ago and there are soooo many faves. Since my mommy brain is mostly fried, I am loving the humor these days so my fave in that category is Aunt Becky at Mommy Wants Vodka. Pure hilarity!  Haven’t found a favorite Yoga Insights blog yet, but have a whole new list of blogs as of yesterday and looking forward to reading them. Really love Gwen Bell because of her insights, and also for this Best of ’09 thang which has helped me get started blogging! thanks!

December 8  Moment of peace. My 2009 best moment of peace hasn’t happened yet. But I have a plan – keep reading. First, some context (and venting).  I try to make regular moments of peace for myself amidst the yoga teaching, mothering, wife-ing, householding, entrepreneur-ing. I am the kind of person who can get a gazillion things done during a couple hours. But, now I have an 8-month old. It has been 8 years since I had a little baby in the house. I knew things would be different, but I forgot how little time I would have to Get Things Done. Now, I’m lucky if I have 10 minutes to check email while eating my breakfast, while holding my foot over the glowing blue button on the CPU that The Crawling Baby is obsessed with pushing. I’ve been trying to get to writing this post for 3 days. 

OK, now for the Plan for the Moment of Peace: Every year on the Winter Solstice, I build a special Yule fire – adding big branches of rosemary, lavender, and little things that I’ve saved throughout the year that it’s time to get rid of: dried roses from my glorious bushes out front, little prayers that I’ve tucked under into my altar… Last year we didn’t turn on any electric lights (or tv, or computer) when the day darkened. We just filled the house with candlelight and firelight. I’ll try for the same thing this year although not sure how it will go with a lot of candles and The Crawling Baby. Maybe the fire will have to suffice. In any event, I plan on cozying up with hot chocolate, my kiddies, my fire, and my brimming Yuletide Spirit to celebrate the Season of Peace.

December 9 Challenge. Giving birth the old-fashioned way. ‘Nuff said.

December 10 Album of the year.  I’m always hunting for great Yoga music. I like Classical Indian or ambient music that has a classical Indian flavor. The Album “Anjali” features acoustic guitarist Michael Mandrell and Indian music master alchemist, Benjy Wertheimer. Mellow and intriguing, great background music for massage or meditation, but also great, almost shamanic, for asana practice. Not too trippy/New Age-y. Student tested, teacher approved.

December 11 The best place.  Hmm. risking cliché, The Present Moment is the best place, Always.

Leave a Reply

